Thursday, April 28, 2011

Saturday, April 23, 2011

Random Things...

Some good friends of ours are experiencing some great sadness in their lives right now. Their cousins were involved in a car accident and all I know right now is someone did not make it and there is a 3 year old in intensive care hooked up to every machine known to medicine trying to make a miracle happen. I just want to go home and hug my kids.

Daddys new job requires him to wear motorcycle boots to work. Shane decided to wear them the first night daddy had them and of course on Shanes little scrawny body, they pretty much went up to his bally balls. After Shane tried to walk around in them for about 30 minutes, he sat down on the couch and said, "Wow, these 10 gallon boots sure are heavy, they must be 11 gallons." Too cute!

The kids started back to school from track off on Monday the 18th. Kassidy is a totally different person when you throw school in the mix. During the 4 weeks she was off she was usually calm and co-operative. There wasn't much talk back or attitude and she seemed to be very peaceful with hardly any panic attacks. This week Kassidy is back to obsessing and worrying over EVERYTHING, she is up many times during the night, whining all the time about how she hates school and she wishes every day was Sunday and why couldn't we have been born smart so that we wouldn't have to go to school, blah, blah, blah. And boy does she have that teenagers attitude down to a T - we are in BIG trouble when she is actually in those teenage years - or should I say she will be in big trouble!

Monday, April 18, 2011

Mommy's Birthday Gift

Since my 44th birthday was the 18th, I guess I wanted to go to the Dinosaurs and Dragon Exhibit at our local museum to celebrate it. It was actually pretty fun.








This was Kassidys favorite thing at the exhibit - she was in love with it.

 


This was Shane's favorite!



Before and After







Saturday, April 16, 2011

Take Your Son to the ER Day

Was anyone aware that Sunday, April 10th was "Take your son to the ER day"? It was if you lived in my house. I got up from my Sunday nap early to tell daddy that I felt like shit and was going back to bed. Shane hears my voice and comes limping down the hallway to tell me that he hurt is foot a little bit ago.  When I say "You did?!?" daddy asks me, "You mean you didn't hear the crying and screaming?" Gee, I must have turned off my mommy ears - bad mommy. So I take a look at Shane's foot and it is significantly swollen on the top compared to the other foot. Then Shane says, "my foot doesn't hurt, the bone right here does" and he points to the bone that comes down from the little piggy that went to the market. The story that I could finally dicipher was that Kassidy was chasing him down the hallway and he fell and hurt is foot. OK? Having had a fractured foot at the age of 13 and remembering the swelling I figured it was better to be safe then sorry and off to the ER we go. Kassidy is begging me if she can go (like I need that stress added) so I tell her she will be too bored and that I will bring McDonalds home afterwards if she stays home with daddy - thank goodness for MC D's.  Shane and I head out to the childrens hospital here in Reno and on the way into town I start thinking - ok, when I was 5 I had a cast on my arm, when Aunty Shell was 5 she had one on her foot for a broken toe so I guess I better start preparing the boy for a cast. I don't think he actually understood what I was saying because I got no reaction at all about a cast. We find a childrens wheelchair at the ER and Shane figured out how to operate it within 30 seconds. The doctor comes in and the conversation with Shane goes like this:

dr: What is your name?
Shane (s): Shane
dr: How old are you?
s: 5
dr: What grade are you in?
s: Kindergarten
dr: Got any girlfriends?
s: NOOOOOOO
dr: Got any boyfriends - ok I am kidding, he didn't ask
dr: What happened?
s: I hurt my foot
dr: Did you fall off of a barstool (he really did say this!)?
s: NOOOOOOOOOOO
dr: What do you want to be when you grow up?
s: I don't know yet (This shows that Shane is not autistic because Kassidy would have said "an adult")
dr: If you become a doctor, you get to wear your pajamas to work and you get to stay up every night.
s: (with a look of confusion on his face) Oookaaay!?

Then the doc has xrays taken - just to be on the safe side - and two hours later we get to see the actual xrays of Shanes foot per Shanes request. No broken bones or fractures so it is just a sprain. The doctor even told him that they wouldn't need to cut it off - wasn't that special. Doc instructions: no crutches because then I would probably be back to the ER with Shane having a head injury (quite the comedian), just Motrin but no beer while on the Mortin (ok, I will try to get him to cut back) and rest. Shane actually stayed put that night and when he did move he crawled like a baby. The swelling went down around Wednesday and he still limps from time to time if he steps down on his foot wrong but I think he is gonna survive.

And for those wandering minds - yes, we got McDonalds on the way home! And when I asked Shane if his foot smiled in the picture, he said no but his bones did - just thought you might want to know.

Saturday, April 9, 2011

BIG NEWS

The doctor that I have been trying to get Kassidy in with to "officially" diagnois her with whatever version of ASD that she has called me today (yes, on a Saturday!) and set up the 5 appts we need to make the diag. And she said that she has never had a problem getting SSI to cover any of her patients - Yipee!!!!!!

And she said that her waiting list for "my type of insurance" is out til 10/2012 but she fit us in for Nov of this year so that Kassidy can get whatever aid she needs since she is already 8. Hurray!!!!!

How The World Should View Things

The following story is from another blog found at: http://likeashark.blogspot.com/2008_06_01_archive.html

The daughter is 8 years old and has PDD-NOS and the mom wrote this blog:

hosed

I was watching this clip while drinking my coffee this morning. Miss M wandered over to my computer, leaned on me. "Who's the kid?" she asked. I explained about Alex Barton, Ms. Portillo, and the Survivor/Belgen-Bersen/Kindergarten program that he attended and was subsequently squeezed out of. 


She watched video clip. She looked at the captions on the screen. Being the sensitive type that she is, I thought that she would shed tears for Alex, or get on her soapbox about the injustices of the world.

"Why do they call it 'special needs'?" she asked.

I explained that some kids need extra support. I explained that schools need extra help in order to help the kids that need it.

"Huh," she said slowly, "why do they call it special? If kids need it, they need it. It's like glasses."

She went into the kitchen to eat a cold pancake. She came back in, munching it taco-style. I was still staring dumbly at the screen.

"This is what I think. Mom. You know how Andrew in my class has Dolores? How she helps him act appropriately, and calm down, and play on the yard. Is that 'special'?"

I answered in the affirmative.

"That is so lame. There's nothing special about it. It's called learning. It's called school. Duh."

I sipped my coffee some more.

She came back again, shaking her pancake taco at me.

"And that guy? At the end, he said that maybe they should teach the kids about understanding differences? This is what I have to say: Yeaaaah. Maybe they should."

She started up the stairs. She turned. "Last thing, Mom. And then I will not talk about this anymore. But that Alex kid?"

She shook her pancake at me again. She forgot to close her mouth when chewing. We've worked so hard on that.

"That poor Alex kid. He sure got hosed."

Indeed.
 
Maybe people with autism are the normal ones and we are the "special" ones .... just saying.

Shift In Behavior

There seems to be an interesting change going on in our house....Kassidy is the "easy" child now. Maybe it is because she is predictable (usually) so you know what to expect most of the time from her. I know that every night she will want me to lay down with her before she goes to sleep. I know that if she does not get warnings before something happens EVERY DAY she will probably have a panic attack. (I can tell you when it is 8pm, 8:30pm and 8:45pm every night without looking at the clock, a mommas instinct so I can warn, "one hour til bed, 1/2 hour til bed, 15 min til bed....".  I know that she will freak out for math homework or worry if she thinks there is the slightest problem between me and daddy. I know that she will probably have a panic attack and want to leave quickly from somewhere new but if it is a familiar place then she will probably stay. You get the jist. 
Shane has become the "hard" child. You never know what is gonna set him off into a crying fit. But it is different then Kassidy's panic attacks. Shane does it to get his own way usually (although he is very sensitive too so if something hurts his feelings he will cry).  See Kassidy (like most kids with ASD) CAN NOT STAND to hear him whining or crying (she can not stand to hear any baby or kid crying, it sends her into a panic attack, even if it is on the TV) so over the last two years Shane has learned that if he cries with Kassidy, she will let him do whatever he wants so that she doesn't have to go into panic mode. Now my husband and I somehow produced two very intelligent children and Shane knows how to use this "weapon" at exactly the right time so as to get what he wants instead of being put in the naughty spot. This morning for example, I was on my way out the door for work and he decided at that moment that he wanted me to lay down with him first.  When I told him that I was leaving for work he wrinkled up his face and started crying (real tears) and right away Kassidy said, "I hate when Shane acts like this, make him stop. I need earphones that block out all other noises" - Shanes cue that if I don't want two kids upset then I will give him what he wants so that Kassidy will not panic. And of course I didn't have time to just put him in his room and wait it out and NOT give him his way because I would be late for work so I laid down with him for 5 min. Now I am telling you that if I wasn't leaving the house, he would have stopped when he realized it wasn't working or else he would be in his room. Right now, typical is NOT easier!  So take that autism, right now you are my friend!

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

This One Is For CJ

Anyone want a 6 month old Australian Heeler? I will ship him anywhere in the US and will even punch holes in the box if I am in a good mood! Jack is driving me crazy - I will take dealing with ASD over Jack the puppy any day of the week. Yesterday, our wonderful pup figured out he can jump the chain link fence of our front yard. I found out as Shane, Kassidy and I were taking Sunset (our perfect little weiner dog that is an angel) for a walk and I heard Jack come running up behind me about two house away from ours. This of course set Kassidy off into panic mode because Jack was loose. Luckily we were in front of the house of neighbors we knew so I told the kids to stay put in their yard, do not follow Jack (in case he went into the street) while I ran home to get another leash - ok I walked really fast (ok - I walked!). When I got back with the leash we had to then catch Jack, not an easy thing to do. Everytime I would reach for him he would run across the street (once in front of a car who lucky had a very attentive driver). And then I have Kassidy screaming in the background that Jack is loose and catch him and Shane yelling at Kassidy that mommy is trying, calm down. Finally, I caught the brat by his tail, (good thing he has one) and got the leash put on him. Crisis over, right? Not if you know us - then I get the kids fighting over who gets to hold Sunsets leash. Well since Shane only weighs 40 pounds and if he walked Jack he would literally be drug down the street and Kassidy weighs 91 pounds I ask Kassidy if she wants to hold Jacks leash - I know, what was I thinking. Within 30 seconds I see Jack run past me with the leash trailing behind him. UGH!!!! After another 5 minutes I finally catch the escape artist and I hold the leash FOR THE REST OF THE WALK. Then Kassidy thinks I hate her because she let go so we spend half of the walk trying to convince Kassidy that I don't hate her and she is not stupid and useless. So much for a nice peaceful walk! We make it home eventually and Shane and I stay outside to play in the front yard. I step into the house for 10 seconds and come back out and I see a lady looking petrified pushing a baby stroller and walking a dog across the street from our house and a man in our driveway cornering Jack. I apologize and the guy says Jack didn't attack them, but they didn't know at first when he jumped the fence if he was nice or mean. So I thank him and apologize again and take Jack by the collar back into our yard. He then sees the nice family continuing on their walk and goes beserk and in the process slices my arm with his nails. So now I have blood running down my arm (thank goodness Kassidy was in the house and didn't see it) and a dog that was about to be snipped without going to the vet. And then I have my caring son look at me and say, "Just put a bandaid on it and you will be fine!" Thanks Doctor Shane, I will get right on that. Now daddy comes outside to see what all the hub bub is about and while he was out front with us a man on a bike came down the street with a dog on a lease. We just sat there and watched as Jack jumped and cleared the gate with such elegance like he was a professional gate jumper. It truly was beautiful to watch. Even the guy on the bike had to stop and said, "Wow, that was amazing." So now we have a dog that can escape at any time. Again, anyone want him  - I promise I will ship him overnight, maybe...