
Well, the day I had expected to happen sooner but dreaded has happened today. Kassidy had a REALLY bad day at school today. I guess she was not listening, not following directions and just doing whatever she wanted to do. They have a discipline system in their class that uses a stop light. The road under the stop light is "Good Behavior" road and all the kids have their names on clothes pins attached to the road. After several warnings from the teacher, they have to move their clothes pin to the green light which is supposed to be a reminder to them that they need to do better. If this does not work, they have to move their pin to the yellow light and they get a 5 minute time out. If this does not improve their behavior, they have to move their pin to the red light which means they do not get recess and the teacher speaks with their parents. Kassidy made it to the red light yesterday. She has been on the green light a few times but that was just for talking to the other kids when she was supposed to be working. I guess yesterday was different though. After thinking about it a lot last night, I guess I need to find out was she being defiant (which she has days that she refuses to do anything the way you want her to) or was she just not able to focus (kind of like her brain was on another planet). Being defiant is not acceptable and we had a talk with Kassidy last night and she now knows she has to put her "remembering brain" on before school (her words) and that if she goes to the red light again she will lose a privilege (no swimming pool that day). But if it is an inability to focus (which is the concerned I expressed to the teacher and school) then how can I punish her for something she doesn't know how to do? Yes, the fun has begun!